Updated 16 September 2026 · videofreetier.com

Seedance 2.5 Free: What You Actually Get Before It Cuts You Off

Yes — you can run Seedance 2.5 without paying. No, there is no free tier on the model itself. What exists is a scatter of daily credit grants, login promotions and third-party trial bundles, each with its own ceiling, each liable to change without notice. If you are looking for "free forever," it is not there. If you are looking for enough runway to test whether the model is worth your money, there is more than enough — provided you know where the walls are.

Below is every number I could pin down. Each one carries the channel it was seen on and the date it was seen, because most of these figures move.


The numbers that decide whether "free" is usable

ItemValueChannel / date observed
Daily free credits60–100 per dayJimeng, early July 2026
Daily free credits88 per dayJimeng, 11 Aug 2026
Daily generation cap5 per account per dayDoubao, 11 Aug 2026
Sign-up bonus20 creditsMina Labs, 11 Aug 2026
Annual-plan bonusup to 20 generationsLovart, 11 Aug 2026
Membership giveaway30 days Standard, list price ¥68, covers Seedance 2.5Doubao Work, launch 25 Aug 2026
Max single clip30 seconds, one native passByteDance model page & blog, 31 Jul 2026
Extension ceiling~3 minutes, reported as Jimeng-only8–9 Jul 2026
Resolution, officialnot statedByteDance blog, 31 Jul 2026
Resolution, in practice1080p on most hosts; 4K claimed by one host; 4K + 10-bit claimed by one testerJul–Aug 2026, mixed
Watermarkfree tier watermarked; members must enable removal manuallyDoubao, 27 Aug 2026

These ten rows are the whole value of this page. Everything below explains them.

Free credits: a daily grant, not a balance

Jimeng hands registered users a batch of credits once a day. It is a refill, not a stockpile — what you do not spend is gone by tomorrow. The reported size does not agree across dates: 60–100 in early July 2026, 88 on 11 August 2026. Treat it as a moving range rather than a published figure. Nobody at ByteDance appears to have committed to a number in writing.

Doubao works differently. It counts generations, not credits: five per account per day on the free tier, observed 11 August 2026. Whether those five include 2.5 or only 2.0 depends on membership — one August report says free accounts get 2.0 and members get 2.5, while the Doubao Work promotion (below) handed 2.5 to anyone who logged in. The two claims sit awkwardly together. I could not reconcile them, so I am not going to pretend to.

The one promotion worth knowing about

On 25 August 2026, Doubao Work launched. Logging in granted a 30-day Standard membership, list price ¥68, and that tier covers Seedance 2.5 plus Seedream 5.0 Pro. Two conditions were reported by someone who went through the flow on 27 August 2026:

The same person was candid that the actual generation quota inside that 30-day window was unverified at the time of writing — the only figure floating around was that Standard carries roughly 5× the free tier. That "5×" is a claim I could not confirm against anything official, so treat it as a claim.

Duration: 30 seconds, then it gets murky

Thirty seconds in a single native pass is solid. ByteDance states it directly on the model page and in the 31 July 2026 blog post, and it is the headline upgrade from 2.0's 15 seconds.

Past 30 seconds, the picture blurs. ByteDance's own English blog says multi-round extension can produce "several minutes" and "multi-minute" content, with no hard number and no stated round limit. Reports dated 8–9 July 2026 put the ceiling at three minutes and describe it as exclusive to Jimeng. The official material does not confirm either the number or the exclusivity. Inference, not fact: if you need longer than 30 seconds, plan on Jimeng, but verify the current ceiling in the app before you build a workflow around it.

Resolution: nobody official will say

This is the strangest gap. ByteDance's 31 July 2026 blog does not state a resolution at all. Third-party hosts fill the vacuum with 1080p, and one host advertises up to 4K. A tester with pre-launch access claimed 4K and 10-bit output in early July 2026 — single-source, and the same person was under NDA at the time, so the claim cannot be checked against anything else.

Practical read: expect 1080p. Do not budget for 4K.

Watermark: the trap

Free output is watermarked. That part is normal. The part that costs people money is this: on Doubao, membership alone does not remove it. There is a switch, and it is off by default. The path, as reported on 27 August 2026: generate anything → open the image full size → tap the three dots in the top-right corner → turn on "auto-remove watermark." Skip that step and a paying member still gets watermarked files.

One more thing, and it is the kind of detail that only surfaces after you have already lost an afternoon: the setting applies at generation time. Upgrading to a membership later will not strip watermarks off clips you already saved.


API access: can you actually get it?

Short version: I am not sure, and neither is anyone publishing about it.

Here is the conflict, stated plainly. ByteDance's own blog, dated 31 July 2026, says API access is "coming soon" via BytePlus ModelArk. A developer post dated 15 July 2026 says the official API opened on 16 July 2026. Both cannot be right about the same thing. The developer post is also pitching an open-source alternative, which is a reason to read it sceptically.

What I can report without hedging:

Errors reported in the field, with the date of the report:

SymptomLikely causeReported
429 Too Many RequestsConcurrency or rate cap hit; too many jobs submitted at once4 Aug 2026
400 on submitResolution or duration over the model's limit; reference image URL not publicly reachable; over-long or self-contradictory prompt4 Aug 2026
402Insufficient balance4 Aug 2026
api error: 529 overloadedServer-side overload25 Aug 2026
connection lost mid-responseLong-running generation dropped mid-flight25 Aug 2026
Fails with no error codeContent moderation, or a scene the renderer could not handle4 Aug 2026

The billing rule that matters: failures caused by moderation or by the platform are generally not charged. A video that renders fine and merely displeases you is charged. Budget for the second kind.

Two further claims that I am recording but refusing to state as fact:

  1. That the full-access enterprise API requires a very large annual commitment, a deposit, and enterprise qualification review. The source labels this a rumour itself, and is promoting a workaround. Rumour.
  2. That consumer apps enforce heavy prompt filtering and block real-face generation at a low level. Single source, same interested party. Unverified.

If either one is load-bearing for your decision, verify it directly with BytePlus sales.


Making free credits last

Two techniques surfaced from hands-on testing dated 12 August 2026, both aimed at the same thing — fewer re-rolls, since a re-roll is a full-price second attempt:

Structure the prompt. Assign each reference asset one job and state exclusions explicitly. In five test groups on one host, this moved the first-attempt usable rate from roughly 30% to above 60% and halved the number of re-rolls. One tester's number, not a benchmark.

Drive motion with a black-and-white depth video. Convert your reference clip to greyscale depth — silhouette, spatial distance, per-frame motion — then pair it with a character image and a scene image. The depth clip constrains the motion path; it does not contribute pixels. Reported to land in one pass with no re-rolls. This one is clever enough that it is worth trying before you believe it.

Neither technique is official. Both are cheap. Both fit the "spend credits on output, not on lottery tickets" principle.


What I could not verify

Anything in this page that reads like a guess is marked as one. Everything else carries a channel and a date, and you should re-check it against the app before you rely on it — these numbers have already moved at least once.